We have all heard the Law of the Harvest: You get in what you put out. Simple, straight forward. And it’s easy to see this law at work in certain areas of our lives: school, work, gardening. 

This principle is also at work in areas that are less obvious. Prayer, in many ways, is subject to the Law of the Harvest. Before I get too far into this, I don’t want to send the impression that simple, heartfelt prayers are of less worth than long, intricate prayers. I do not believe this at all. In fact I believe that some of the most simple prayers can be the most powerful.

The Law of Harvest as it applies to prayer is not about length or word choice, but rather it’s about intent. How much of our hearts, desires, and faith are we putting into our prayers? Do we believe and come to the altar of prayer with faith that our petitions will be heard?

As I’ve thought about and pondered on these things, some things have come to mind on how I could improve my prayers and apply the Law of the Harvest.

  1. Be prepared. So often at the end of the night I kneel down by my bed, rattle off things I am grateful for, ask for a few blessings, and call it day. While I am asking for things that I need, I don’t think I’m always living up to my privileges in this aspect of my prayers. The Lord has so much to give to us! How much richer could my petitions be if I took a few minutes before beginning to think about the questions I have and the needs that are present in my life.
  2. Remember it’s a conversation. Have you ever asked someone how their day was and they responded with a monotone, “Good”? It’s the worst. Here you are hoping for a catch up with a friend or an opportunity to connect with a loved one and you’re getting nothing. Is that sometimes our prayers? I am surely guilty of this at times. On the other hand, don’t we all come away for a rich conversation filling fulfilled and enlightened? Shouldn’t that be how our daily prayers are? The Lord is a wonderful conversationalist but he will never force us into a conversation that we don’t want to have. But if we open those lines of communication, the dialogue will richer than we can imagine.
  3. Be still. Similar to the previous point, if we’re engaging in a conversation, we have to give the other party an opportunity to weigh in. Whether it’s in the middle or at the end of our prayer, it’s important to just listen. An answer may not come every time right away, but those moments ofstillness have a way of filling the soul.
  4. Be honest. I used to shy away from sharing all of my emotions in prayer. I thought that expressing frustration or confusion that somehow made me weak. However, as I’ve learned to pray with more candor, my relationship with the Lord has only gotten closer. He can soothe worries and calm frustrations or anger, but we have to tell him about them.

Photo cred: ldsartco.com

Leave a Reply

